An official website of the United States government

About Malta
Valletta Grand Harbor

Valletta Grand Harbor


The Maltese Islands are located between Sicily and North Africa in the Mediterranean Sea, and are home to roughly 460,000 people. With a diverse culture and electric atmosphere, Malta has been regarded as one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world.

The Maltese archipelago consists of three islands – Malta, Gozo, and Comino. Each Maltese island has its own unique traits and attractions. The island of Malta is the largest and is known as the commercial and administrative center of the Republic. Gozo is ranked as the second largest island and is the most rural of the three. Comino is mostly uninhabited, but is the perfect destination for day-trippers and avid hikers.

The islands possess nearly 7,000 years of an intriguing and dynamic history, as well as an array of spectacular beaches and sites for visitors of all ages to enjoy.

For more information about the Maltese Islands go to Visit Malta.